HONORS 101 Homework Assignments

Tuesday 27 August 2019 [Slides]

  • In class: Introduction to Honors 101

Thursday 29 August 2019 [Slides]

Tuesday 3 September 2019

Thursday 5 September 2019 [Slides]

Friday 6 September 2019

Tuesday 10 September 2019 [Slides]

Thursday 12 September 2019 [Slides]

  • Read and study Joseph E. Stiglitz The Price of Inequality Preface (xxxvii-lv [37-55]) and Chapter 1 (1-34)

  • In class: MLA Formatting

Tuesday 17 September 2019 [Slides]

  • Read and study Joseph E. Stiglitz The Price of Inequality Chapter 4 (104-147) and Chapter 7 (234-258)

  • Familiarize yourself with the basics of MLA Formatting

Wednesday 18 September 2019

Thursday 19 September 2019 [Slides]

Sunday 22 September 2019

  • Thesis and essay help session at 6:00p in HC 107

  • Screening of Te doy mis ojos at 7:00p in HC 107

Tuesday 24 September 2019 [Slides]

Wednesday 25 September 2019

Thursday 26 September 2019 [Slides]

Tuesday 1 October 2019 [Slides]

Thursday 3 October 2019 [Slides]

Tuesday 8 October 2019 [Slides]

  • Read and study Toni Morrison Beloved (1-100; you are not required to read the Foreward as it contains some spoilers)

Thursday 10 October 2019 [Slides]

Cindy Sherman "Untitled Movie Still #58" (1980)

Cindy Sherman "Untitled Movie Still #58" (1980)

Tuesday 15 October 2019

  • Read and study Toni Morrison Beloved (159-256)

Thursday 17 October 2019

  • Read and study Toni Morrison Beloved (257-324)

Friday 18 October 2019

Tuesday 22 October 2019

  • In class: Analysis and interpretations of Toni Morrison Beloved

Wednesday 23 October 2019

Thursday 24 October 2019

Tuesday 29 October 2019

Thursday 31 October 2019

  • Read and study My Brother's Gun Chapters 1-25 (3-62)

Tuesday 5 November 2019 [Slides]

  • Read and study Ray Loriga My Brother's Gun Chapters 26-51 (63-119)

Wednesday 6 November 2019

Thursday 7 November 2019 [Slides]

  • In class: Art of Barbara Kruger

Monday 11 November 2019

Tuesday 12 November 2019 [Slides]

  • Read and study Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead Acts 1 + 2 (7-87)

Thursday 14 November 2019

  • Read and study Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead Act 3 (89-117)

Tuesday 19 November 2019 [Slides]

  • In class: Photography of Cindy Sherman

Thursday 21 November 2019

  • In class: Macro-messages and global interpretations

Tuesday 26 November 2019

  • No class: Thanksgiving Break

Thursday 28 November 2019 

  • No class: Thanksgiving Break

Tuesday 3 December 2019

Thursday 5 December 2019

  • In class: Presentations on research paper topic

  • In class: Closing Words + Farewell

Friday 13 December 2019 

Ernie Barnes “Sugar Shack” (1976)

Ernie Barnes “Sugar Shack” (1976)